CDM1550 and HT1250 Emergency Question

The General forum is where users can discuss any topic regarding Motorola communications equipment - hardware, software, etc. There are also several focused forums on this board, so please take the time to ensure that your questions doesn't fall into one of those categories before posting here!

Moderator: Queue Moderator

oldredtoyota
New User

CDM1550 and HT1250 Emergency Question

Post by oldredtoyota »

Hello Everyone!

Alright, so my department was fortunate enough to be donated several CDM1550LS and HT1250LS radios. I know these are older, but due to funding and size of the department this is perfect! I'm new to the CPS programming, but I've had luck through the internet with answering most of my questions. I know these are old radios, but they're new to us and what we could afford.

A problem that I'm facing is the emergency button on the HTs. My goal is to have the emergency button be pressed and the CDM decode it and show radio XYZ is in alarm. I somewhat have what I'm looking for, but believe I'm missing a key part as well. Basically right now on CDM I have scan list of normal com channel (CH1) and a secondary on emergency channel (CH2) . Emergency channel is strictly "listening" for emergency button activation. I have CH2 set to priority 1 scan.

HTs go into emergency mode fine and the CDM picks it up fine, but my problem arises if there's other traffic on CH1 while emergency is pushed. If CH1 is active the scan doesn't seem to pick up CH2 until CH1 traffic has stopped. I have played with the impolite and polite tries, but what I don't like about this is that the entire time the HT is trying, if the PTT button is pressed the tries stop. Also, if the tries stop but CH2 on CDM never got scanned the emergency could go missed.