Bricked my CDM750 - why?

This forum is for discussions regarding all aspects of Motorola radio programming, including hardware, computers, installation and use of RSS/CPS, firmware upgrades, and troubleshooting. There are subforums for discussions of codeplugs, and also for software/firmware release notes and issues.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

hamptonbeach

Bricked my CDM750 - why?

Post by hamptonbeach »

OK, I have a CDM750 and I've never programmed one before but programmed many other Moto radios

I have a Polaris PA-II RIB, and made a cable per the schematic on this website.
I have Pro Radio CPS version 5.03.00
Since the CPS is Windows based, I didn't know if I needed a 'slow' PC ..
I used a Motorola ML910 running Windows 7

Connected to serial port 1 and it read the radio with no issue.
All I needed to do was change the TX frequency on 1 of 2 existing personalities (to access new repeater)
The frequency was in band 160.xxx - I made the change .... and ...

Wrote to the radio - it made a few beeps which I thought was the powercycle, but the radio was dead.
Pressing the power switch does nothing.

Before I kill another radio - did I do something wrong?
kb4mdz
What radios do you own?: Too many for the time I have.

Re: Bricked my CDM750 - why?

Post by kb4mdz »

Did you put in a codeplug with Ignition Sense activated/required?

Try connecting +12V to accessory pin 10.

I did this very thing right in front of the new boss when I signed onto my current place. Good thing he'd made that mistake before, too!
hamptonbeach

Post by hamptonbeach »

All I did was read the existing codeplug, change the TX frequency on personality 1 and write it back.
Ignition sense wasn't active before (no plug in the accessory connector) so I wouldn't think it would change ...
But, I had already ordered one in case that was the issue. I'll have it on Tuesday.