My first MSF5K has issues.

This forum is for the discussions targeted at converting various models of Motorola equipment to operate in the 900MHz Amateur Band.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

John G

My first MSF5K has issues.

Post by John G »

I just bought a 900MHz MSF5000 model C65GFB5203AT. Others who bought the other repeaters from the same trunked system have them up and running. I must admit that I have limited experience with the MSF. I worked on a VHF base some years ago and that's about it for these. When I power it up, it displays the SSCB firmware version, 3.25, but not the TTRC version. Neither VCO shows locked. When I try to read it with 5.21 RSS, I get a TTRC type mismatch error. I created a conventional codeplug from the default one in RSS and when I try to program it into the repeater, RSS reports that it can't communicate. SInce the TTRC doesn't report its firmware revision, I suspect there is a problem with it. Has anyone encountered this problem before, and if so, what caused it?
kcbooboo
Batboard $upporter

Re: My first MSF5K has issues.

Post by kcbooboo »

Do you have a reference oscillator connected? Without one the VCOs have no reference and won't lock up.

Do any of the LEDs on the TTRC light up during power-up? Could it be unplugged?

Is anything else appearing on the display besides the firmware version?

Check the jumpers JU1 and JU2; with just a TTRC and no secure board, they should both be in their "normal" position. You have to change one of those jumpers if you remove the TTRC or install the secure board.

If the TTRC is marked as "present" in the code plug, RSS and the SSCB will want to read/write it and will fail if not. You could try making a new code plug with the TTRC disabled and send that to the station; it will only write to the SSCB and that should go fine. Of course if you want to use the TTRC, you can't leave things like that.

Bob M.
John G

Post by John G »