How do you get astro radios to power on?

This forum is dedicated to discussions pertaining specifically to the Motorola ASTRO line of radios (those that use VSELP/IMBE/AMBE), including using digital modulation, digital programming, FlashPort upgrades, etc. If you have general questions please use the General or Programming forums.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

charchar
New User

How do you get astro radios to power on?

Post by charchar »

Hello, I am used to dealing with every other kind of Motorola radio but these Spectras / Astro's have me confused. Typically a M1225 or MaxTrac will power on simply by plugging it into a Astro Power supply but these Astro's just won't power on the same way. I connected the control head with the proper remote cable to the radio, plugged it in to my power supply, and I can't get any of the radios to power on. I am new to dealing with these and I will greatly appreciate any help to get these to power up!! I know they are in working condition. Thanks for your time
Doug
Batboard $upporter

Re: How do you get astro radios to power on?

Post by Doug »

You also need to power the control head. If they are dash mount you'll need to power pin 5 of the db15 acc. connector Your speaker audio is also retrieved at the db 15 as well.

http://batlabs.com/spectra.html
Doug
May the Schwarz be with you.
charchar
New User

Post by charchar »

They are rear mount, i'm pretty sure, because the control heads aren't connected to the radios except by the cable. Do you know of a certain model cable I can search for that will allow me to power pin 5 of the DB15 female port on the back of the radio? I didn't see that information on the batlabs spectra site.