Service Monitor Recommendations

This forum exists for the purposes for discussing service monitors (This includes but is not limited to Motorola, HP, Aeroflex, GD, etc). Additional topics allowed include test procedures, interpretation of test results, where to find information about specific tests, antenna VSWR, return loss testing, duplexer and filter alignment, etc.

Moderator: Queue Moderator

iamspt
New User

Service Monitor Recommendations

Post by iamspt »

Hi all. Thanks to everyone for sharing knowledge here. I often spend many hours a week researching and reading the wealth of information. over the years i have learned a ton.

I finally graduated from school (electronics engineering) and gainfully employed in the field. I am a ham radio operator and LOVE 2 way radio.

From a hobbyist perspective, I would like to delve into transmitter/receiver alignment, repeaters, tuning duplexers, perhaps sweeping antennas and feedlines. My interest lies in 440 and 900 at this time. Although i have a steady check, i dont have a whole let to spend so would like to spend wisely.

There are many ways to skin a cat...having said that im thinking i'd like to get a service monitor. obviously some like the IFR 1200/1500 has many built in features but come at a cost vs some of the service monitors that cover 1K to 1G + with spectrum analyzer but are meant for cell systems and are much less expensive.

If it were you, which route would you go? how can I achieve my goal the most cost effective way possible? What features are important to you when thinking about what Id like to use it for? Are there specific models you would recommend?

I look forward to everyones input. THanks!
Jim202

Re: Service Monitor Recommendations

Post by Jim202 »